Being a responsible driver means understanding the laws surrounding driving and accidents. One of the most important things drivers need to know following an accident is how Georgia law handles fault.
To better understand how and when Georgia’s fault laws apply to you, be sure to review the information below and consult with an Atlanta personal injury lawyer. They’ll help you clear up any questions or concerns about Georgia’s fault system and give you a clear understanding of what legal options may be available to you if you’ve been in an accident.
Georgia’s Insurance System
Georgia uses comparative fault. Fault is assigned on a percentage basis, and compensation to drivers is granted based on what percentage of fault they share. However, Georgia isn’t a true comparative fault state. That means if you’re assigned 50% or more fault for an accident, you may not be compensated at all.
Insurance Claims and Comparative Fault
Insurance claims are directly impacted by Georgia’s fault system. Upon filing a claim, insurance adjusters analyze data to decide the percentage of fault for everyone involved in an incident. This analysis determines the amount of compensation everyone is entitled to. For those looking for fair compensation for damages, understanding this process is important.
By law, all Georgia drivers must carry a minimum amount of liability insurance. Drivers are required to be insured for at least $25,000 per person for bodily injuries, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property damage. Fulfilling these requirements is essential. Compliance or lack thereof directly affects insurance claims seeking compensation.
Coverage for Uninsured/Underinsured Vehicle Operators
Georgia roads are full of uninsured and underinsured drivers. This is why it’s wise to have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This policy will protect you if an at-fault party is underinsured and can’t afford to cover your damages. The coverage provides safety because you can still get compensation regardless of whether the other driver can pay.
Statute of Limitations
Georgia has limitations on how long you have to submit a personal injury claim.
Generally, accident victims have two years from the date of the accident to file. Failing to file within this timeframe may mean you’ll lose your opportunity to recover compensation. It’s an expensive deadline to miss. Don’t let the clock run out. Take action today.
Comparative Fault and Your Compensation
If you’re in Georgia and you’ve been in an accident, you should understand how comparative fault applies to you. The price for remaining ignorant could cost you all of the compensation that you deserve.
Remember that unless you’ve been found 50% liable or more, you could still be compensated. However, based on the percentage of fault attributed to you, you could have some persistent legal problems on your hands.